Betty Go Belmonte Award

GSP Bags Betty Go Belmonte Award

The Girl Scouts of the Philippines was conferred with the Most Outstanding Non-Governmental Organization Humanitarian Award on April 20, 2013 during the 3rd Betty Go Belmonte Awarding Ceremony.

The award was given by the University of the Philippines Sigma Delta Phi Alumnae Association.

The Betty Go Belmonte Awards are bestowed on outstanding individuals and organizations in recognition of how they significantly promote the values and virtues of the Award’s namesake.  Betty Go Belmonte was the Charter President of the University of the Philippines Sigma Delta Phi Alumnae Association which was incorporated in 1985.

Betty Go Belmonte was a journalist, publisher and businesswoman of one of the country’s leading dailies, The Philippine Star. She was a renowned socio-civic leader, values and women empowerment advocate, and a philanthropist in various fields.

Recipients of this Award should exemplify some of Betty Go Belmonte’s merits and commitments such as advocacy of peace and social cohesion; dynamic and motivating leadership; sincere generosity and genuine caring concern; quiet and disciplined work ethics anchored in humility, compassion and commitment; non-violent social reform; highly principled and values-oriented personhood with strong spirituality and moral ascendancy; renowned integrity and credibility.

The award recognized the untiring efforts exerted by the GSP in fulfilling its commitment to its mission of helping Filipino girls and young women realize the ideals of womanhood and prepare themselves for their responsibilities in the home, the nation, and the world community.  GSP provides training and offers programs addressing the contemporary issues affecting girls and young women. These programs constantly evolve in order to respond positively to the challenges of Spirituality and Well being, Environment, Preparedness, Family Life, Economic Self Sufficiency, Our Heritage and Citizenship, Arts and World Community.

The award was received by Dr. Salud A. Bagalso, National President with Dr. Cristina Lim-Yuson, 1st National Vice President and Myra Contessa Diokno-Sarmenta, Assistant National Executive Director.